Friday, October 26, 2012

Friday Freebie: These Things Happen by Richard Kramer

Congratulations to Laura K. Moretz, winner of last week's Friday Freebie: Soul of a Whore and Purvis: Two Plays in Verse by Denis Johnson.

This week's book giveaway is These Things Happen by Richard Kramer, the creator of the legendary TV series My So-Called Life and thirtysomething (among others).  Published by Unbridled Books, These Things Happen is set among Manhattan’s high-powered liberal elite and told through an ensemble of endearing voices.  At the center of the story is fifteen-year-old Wesley who has just moved from his mother and stepfather’s home to live with his father and his father’s male partner for a school term so that father and son might have a chance to bond again.  As Publishers Weekly explains: "While Wesley struggles to acclimate to his new digs, his best friend, Theo, wins the class presidency and announces he’s gay during his acceptance speech. His classmates are indifferent, but Theo, eager to acquire 'edge,' hopes for a trial by fire for coming out."  Without giving anything away, let's just say he gets more than he bargained for.  Michael Cunningham (The Hours) had this to say about Kramer's debut novel: "These Things Happen is a jewel of a book: incisive, funny, wise, and moving. It prompted me, on almost every page, to ask the question I’m most glad to find myself asking of a novel, How did the writer know that?"

Kramer was a recent guest at the My First Time series here at The Quivering Pen.  His essay, "My First Line of Dialogue" is well worth checking out (especially for fans of Singin' in the Rain and To Kill a Mockingbird).

If you'd like a chance at winning a copy of These Things Happen, all you have to do is email your name and mailing address to

Put FRIDAY FREEBIE in the e-mail subject line.  One entry per person, please.  Despite its name, the Friday Freebie runs all week long and remains open to entries until midnight on Nov. 1at which time I'll draw the winning name.  I'll announce the lucky reader on Nov. 2.  If you'd like to join the mailing list for the once-a-week Quivering Pen newsletter, simply add the words "Sign me up for the newsletter" in the body of your email.  Your email address and other personal information will never be sold or given to a third party (except in those instances where the publisher requires a mailing address for sending Friday Freebie winners copies of the book).

Want to double your odds of winning?  Get an extra entry in the contest by posting a link to this webpage on your blog, your Facebook wall or by tweeting it on Twitter.  Once you've done any of those things, send me an additional e-mail saying "I've shared" and I'll put your name in the hat twice.

No comments:

Post a Comment